Words…

June 14, 2010 § 6 Comments

Lately it seems I’m finding little pieces of what I need everywhere I look… Some of it is affirming, produces feelings of contentment, some of it is challenging, some of it seems to crack my heart open in new, wonderful, and scary ways… I think this has a lot to do with being open, participating more, being more aware. Music, blooms on my vegetables in the garden, cloudy skies, the tiniest release in my hips, noticing unhealthy reactions and (trying) to learn instead of berate… photographs… words… Like these:

Messenger

My work is loving the world.
Here the sunflowers, there the hummingbird–
equal seekers of sweetness.
Here the quickening yeast; there the blue plums.
Here the clam deep in the speckled sand.

Are my boots old? Is my coat torn?
Am I no longer young, and still not half-perfect?
Let me keep my mind on what matters,
which is my work,

which is mostly standing still and learning to be astonished.
The phoebe, the delphinium.
The sheep in the pasture, and the pasture.
Which is mostly rejoicing, since all ingredients are here,

which is gratitude, to be given a mind and a heart
and these body-clothes,
a mouth with which to give shouts of joy
to the moth and the wren, to the sleepy dug-up clam,
telling them all, over and over, how it is
that we live forever.

– Mary Oliver

Why have I not read Mary Oliver?? Have any of you? I’ve been browsing through her collections after hearing and then searching for this poem. For those of you who know her, would you recommend any particular book to start with? I need more of this.

§ 6 Responses to Words…

  • Rachel says:

    This is perfect Mel. Thanks for sharing.

  • DeltaDawn says:

    Ah – it’s you! You write so well – feel like I’ve been there with you.

    I’m going to try to take some inspiration from you – I’ve been a bit MIA myself and need to get back to some writing/blogging. Seems like there are a bunch of us MIA – wonder what’s up in the universe….

    Goooooood to hear from you!!

  • DeltaDawn says:

    And PS – I haven’t checked in a while – something told me to today – wonderful serendipty there!

  • kat says:

    one could spend a life reading mary oliver

  • Caroline G. says:

    woof. she is wonderful. and right on time, eh?
    Have you found Olga Broumas yet?

  • heatherknits says:

    Wow – I don’t know about her, and why not? Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Words… at All That.

meta