Making Stuff Up

March 4, 2011 § 7 Comments

More and more evidence that my mind works in mysterious ways:

There have been a few occasions lately where I’ve been confronted with a “fact” that I’ve apparently deduced or flat out fabricated in my own mind. This challenges me in ways that you may only understand if you, too, have a deep-seated need to be RIGHT. Thankfully, this particular case was harmless (although humbling)!

Did you all know? One of T’s FAVORITE books as a kid was The BFG.

I have been with this man for more than half my life y’all, I KNOW what his favorite book is. I’ll even fight him on it! (Shocker: My husband has not read a single Roald Dahl book. Nope, not even Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Actually… Neither have I.) So… Apparently I completely made that up. And shared it with several of our friends. Now they all think T’s favorite book is The BFG too. I have no idea where or when or how this little lie was born, but it officially has a life of it’s own now. As evidenced when a friend tells me that her son dressed up as the BFG today, and won’t T think that’s sweet. (T was, in fact, slightly confused about this random piece of information).

This is a humorous instance, but because of the force of my conviction and the mystery of how in the world I came up with this “fact”, I have to concede that there may be a great many other (and vastly more important) things that I believe to my core that are actually untrue. Combined with these recent revelations and all the others of the past year, I’m asking, What ELSE do I believe that is totally false?!

§ 7 Responses to Making Stuff Up

  • Tasha says:

    I do this All The Time…and I have to wonder if I do it because I want to lead a more exciting life or because I feel like something “should be” or just because somewhere, sometime a memory triggered between two dispirit things and I just decided that they MUST be so. However, I have never found that I have done so with something that was truly important. Sometimes I just feel like I have so much floating around in my head that I need to attach it all to something and I do; but the really important truths are already attached…to me. I may have them shrouded at the moment but they are there and as solid as T’s favorite book. (Mine was “The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles”…really 🙂 )

    • Mel says:

      I will have to look for that book! 🙂

      As I’m learning more about myself & my emotions and all that lovely fun stuff, I think most of the really important (and basic!) truths are all right there (is this what you mean?), but I have to dig around and shed some of my surface beliefs before I can accept them. It is very interesting to see what my mind is capable of making up!

  • Heather says:

    This is kind of hilarious. I think T should read the BFG, and you should both read Tasha’s recommendation! I remember loving them both.

    • Mel says:

      Me: “T, guess what Scott dressed up as today??? You’ll love it!!!” and then, “Why aren’t you excited, it’s your favorite?!!” It took a few minutes to come round to it and then we started rolling!

      I’m betting that we’ll get a copy as a gift. Another piece of my usual telling of the story: “You know, we don’t even have a copy of that book [The BFG], isn’t that strange?!” We definitely need to read it now! We’ll have to check them both out. 🙂

  • Rachel says:

    I find this pretty amusing…I wonder if I do it too? There are things about my childhood that I’m adamant occurred, but nobody else in my family remembers them. Did I make them up or were they so inconsequential that the events were lodged in nobody’s memory but mine? It’s actually sort of scary to me to not know the answer to that question…maybe because I don’t want to ask myself, as you have, why I’ve made those things up if they aren’t in fact true.

    • Mel says:

      It’s been very enlightening to realize this! My brother & I had a great talk over the holidays too – there was an instance when we were kids that we each believed was a result of our actions (a minor thing, nothing intense) – but how funny, all these years, I thought it was my fault – he thought it was his, and who really knows?! I think it is scary, especially to think how this might apply to more important or emotionally loaded situations. I hear you completely. Learning to be honest with myself is a process – and our minds and memory work in interesting ways.

  • […] when I STOP trying. Stop trying so damn hard and wanting so damn much. I could tell you my stories (the ones I’ve fabricated and the ones that might have some actual truth to them), or most especially, the ones that began in […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making Stuff Up at All That.

meta