Take the Next Step

May 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today I’m focussing on taking the next step (my intention/sankalpa). While I have the first, harder (far scarier!) actions behind me and a bit of momentum, I must keep moving. Which requires it’s own kind of steady courage, even when the steps are small. Taking the time to acknowledge and re-focus is helpful. Resisting dreaming about possible outcomes as they continue to shift, and doing one thing. I sat down this morning with this on my mind, and practiced. Sit, Breathe, Intend, Move:

Down Dog/Adho Mukha Svanasana
Forward Fold/Uttanasana (Walking hands back to feet at the back of the mat)
½ Forward Fold/Ardha Uttanasana (Sev. Rounds)
½ Sun Salutes
Swan dive up – Hand to Big Toe Pose/utthita hasta padangusthasana d with arms extended overhead– right leg extended.
Big step forward, shift the left leg back as the torso comes forward
Warrior III/Virabhadrasana III – few breaths
Shift back up – Hand to Big Toe Pose/utthita hasta padangusthasana d with arms extended overhead – left leg extended.
Big step forward, shift the right leg back as the torso comes all the way forward
Standing Split – Right leg extended – Few breaths
Open to Ardha Chandrasana – Few breaths
Uttanasana
Vinyasa – Plank, Chaturanga, Cobra, Down Dog.
Repeat other side.

Breathe. Sit. Courage. No matter if the balance is shaky (or non-existent, in my case this morning!). Intend. Aim. Take the next step. A baby one or a big one. Today, I will make contact on a service project I am longing to do.

What is your next step?

§ 2 Responses to Take the Next Step

  • Elizabeth says:

    That is a good question. I think I need to commit internally to something and then the next step will become clear. I notice I am hesitant to commit to any path, but I suspect it will be more helpful than not doing so, where I dither about between things and never do anything.

    • Mel says:

      Yes. And I think it’s hard too when the goals/path keep shifting/evolving. Reminding myself that taking the steps toward one is actually causing the evolution and that’s ok. Commit, accept the shift. Commit again. It’s cyclical, it seems – and after not making any motion for a long period of time; sometimes this feels like going in circles and doesn’t seem all that much different. Trying to trust in the steps and the process. xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Take the Next Step at All That.

meta