Bring me the Sunflower

August 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

Flowers and words from dear dear friends. I hope that you enjoy them too:

Bring me the sunflower, let me plant it
in my field porched by the salt sea wind,
and let it show the blue reflecting sky
the yearning of it’s yellow face all day.

Dark things tend to brightness, bodies
fade out in a flood of colors,
colors in music. So disappearring is
the destiny of destinies.

Bring me the plant that leads the way
to where blood transparencies
rise, and life as essence turns to haze;
bring me the sunflower crazed with light.

***

Portami il girasole ch’io lo trapianti
nel mio terreno bruciato dal salino,
e mostri tutto il giorno agli azzurri specchianti
del cielo l’ansietà del suo volto giallino.

Tendono alla chiarità le cose oscure,
si esauriscono i corpi in un fluire
di tinte: queste in musiche. Svanire
é dunque la ventura delle venture.

Portami tu la pianta che conduce
dove sorgono bionde trasparenze
e vapora la vita quale essenza;
portami il girasole impazzito di luce.

-Eugenio Montale

§ 2 Responses to Bring me the Sunflower

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bring me the Sunflower at All That.

meta